Breaking News: An early election was called. It is set to take place on April 14th, 2021

Governor issues new writs after election date change

Feb 17, 2021

(CMR) Following the decision to bring forward the date of the General Election to Wednesday, 14 April 2021, His Excellency the Governor, Martyn Roper Monday, 15 February 2021 issued updated writs to the Returning Officers and Deputy Returning Officers.

“Despite the earlier than expected election this year, I have full confidence that the Returning Officers, Deputy Returning Officers as well as the team at the Elections Office will have all the necessary measures and training in place to hold a free and fair election on Wednesday, 14 April. The Cayman Islands has a long history of upholding international best practices for elections and this year will be no different,” said Mr. Roper.

Returning Officers are responsible for the organization and conduct of elections in their respective districts. Writs are the documents the Governor issues to the Returning Officers commanding them to conduct an election in accordance with Section 28 of the Elections Law (2021 Revision).

These writs will be returned to the Governor following the election with the name of the candidate who has been elected to serve in that electoral district.

In accordance with the 2021 General Elections Programme, Nomination Day will be held on Monday, 1 March 2021. The General Elections is to be held in the 19 electoral districts on Wednesday, 14 April 2021.

Writs were initially issued on Wednesday, 9 December for the previous General Election date, which had been set for May.

Editors Notes

The remaining election activities are outlined below.

Notice of NominationsMonday, 22 February 2021
Nomination DayMonday, 1 March 2021
Election DayWednesday, 14 April 2021
Elections returns served on the Governor and return of the writsMonday, 19 April 2021

A list of the 19 Returning Officers and the electoral districts are listed below.

Electoral DistrictReturning Officer
West Bay NorthNathania Shakira Sarita Pearson
West Bay WestDale James Ramoon
West Bay SouthDelano Oliver Solomon
West Bay CentralAntoinette Yvette Johnson
George Town SouthPhilip Antoinio Barnes
George Town WestDebbie-Ann Lovida Whittaker
George Town EastShirley Lynn Whittaker
George Town CentralTamara Danille Hurlston
George Town NorthPhilip Martin Jackson
Red BayIda Jane Ebanks
ProspectJudith Grace Witter
Bodden Town EastLyneth Alynta Monteith
Bodden Town WestHaroon Lloyd Pandohie
SavannahKim Ann Bullings
NewlandsTristaca Lynne Ebanks
East EndMelinda Natasha Montemayor
North SideAlice Ann Louise Kirchman
Cayman Brac West and Little CaymanDave Talbert Tatum
Cayman Brac EastChevala Lawanda Burke