Breaking News: An early election was called. It is set to take place on April 14th, 2021


9 Seats

21,859 Votes (36.1%)


3 Seats

16,816 Votes (27.8%)


6 Seats

21,923 Votes (36.1%)

General elections were held in the Cayman Islands on 22 May 2013 for all 18 seats in the Legislative Assembly using a first-past-the-post system. Members of the Legislative Assembly are elected for a four year term in four multi-member and two single-member electoral districts. The number of elected members in multi-member districts
varies between two and six.

The 2013 General Elections were the third elections since the introduction of the political parties system in the Cayman Islands. The amendment of elections law in 2012 increased the number of elected members of the Legislative Assembly from 15 to 18.

Political Parties & Candidates

A total of 56 candidates contested the election. Three political parties fielded a total of 32 candidates while another 24 candidates ran as independents.


The opposition Progressives more than doubled their seat count to 9, bringing them one seat short of an overall majority. The opposition United Democratic Party (UDP) lost 1 seat but was down 6 from their 2009 result. The governing People’s National Alliance, a breakaway group from the UDP, lost 4 of its 5 seats. C4C, a new political organization, won 3 seats, while incumbent independents Ezzard Miller and Arden McLean (a former Progressive) held their seats.

Voter Turnout

Voter turnout was 79.82%.


No party won an overall majority, but with the Progressives winning half of the seats and three times more seats than any other grouping, they went on to form the government, with Alden McLaughlin as the new Premier.

Electoral System

System: First-past-the-post

Elected Members: 18 elected members

Voter Turnout

Total Votes Cast: 14,760

Registered Voters: 18,492

Voter Turnout: 79.82%

Critical Dates

Dissolution of House: Tue, 26 Mar 2013

Nomination Day: Tue, 26 Mar 2013

Polling Day: Wed, 22 May 2013

First Meeting of Parliament: Wed, 29 May 2013

Political Leaders

Alden McLaughlin

(People’s Progressive Movement – PPM)

McKeeva Bush

(United Democratic Party – UDP)


(People’s National Alliance – PNA)

Latest News

Four killed, 11 injured in Jamaica bus crash

Four killed, 11 injured in Jamaica bus crash

(CMR) Four persons were killed and 11 others injured when a Toyota Hiace bus crashed along the PJ Patterson Highway near Spanish Town at about 11 am on Monday. The police said the driver of the public passenger bus appeared to have lost control of the vehicle,...

Election News

Latest Podcast

Listen to our latest podcasts on Facebook

Cayman Election

We are Cayman’s Election Headquarters!