Breaking News: An early election was called. It is set to take place on April 14th, 2021


5 Seats

11.645 Votes (29.8%)


9 Seats

17,299 Votes (44.2%)


1 Seat

10,189 Votes (44.69%)

General elections were held in the Cayman Islands on 10 May 2009 for all 18 seats in the Legislative Assembly using a first-past-the-post system.

Political Parties & Candidates

A total of 43 candidates contested the election. Candidates were presented by the People’s Progressive Party (PPM), and the United Democratic Party (UDP), along with several independents.


The opposition United Democratic Party (UDP) defeated the incumbent People’s Progressive Movement (PPM). the UDP swept into power with nine seats and one pro-UDP independent candidate being elected. The People’s Progressive Movement became the Opposition party with five seats.

Voter Turnout

Voter turnout was 79.57%.


The UDP lost its majority in December 2012 after a vote of no-confidence in the government at the Legislative Assembly. Subsequently five members of the UDP formed a new government headed by the former Deputy Premier, Juliana O`Connor-Connolly JP MLA.

Electoral System

System: First-past-the-post

Elected Members: 18 elected members in four multi-member and two single-member electoral districts.

Voter Turnout

Total Votes Cast: 12,204

Registered Voters: 15,338

Voter Turnout: 79.57%

Critical Dates

Dissolution of House: Tue, 24 Mar 2009

Nomination Day: Wed, 25 Mar 2009

Polling Day: Wed, 10 May 2009

First Meeting of Parliament: Wed, 27 May 2009

Political Leaders

Kurt Tibbets

(People’s Progressive Movement – PPM)

McKeeva Bush

(United Democratic Party – UDP)

Latest News

Four killed, 11 injured in Jamaica bus crash

Four killed, 11 injured in Jamaica bus crash

(CMR) Four persons were killed and 11 others injured when a Toyota Hiace bus crashed along the PJ Patterson Highway near Spanish Town at about 11 am on Monday. The police said the driver of the public passenger bus appeared to have lost control of the vehicle,...

Election News

Latest Podcast

Listen to our latest podcasts on Facebook

Cayman Election

We are Cayman’s Election Headquarters!