Breaking News: An early election was called. It is set to take place on April 14th, 2021


9 Seats

13,199 Votes (67.2%)


5 Seats

6,062 Votes (30.9%)


1 Seat

380 Votes (1.9%)

General elections were held in the Cayman Islands on 11 May 2005 for all 15 seats in the Legislative Assembly using a first-past-the-post system.

The election was originally due to take place on 17 November 2004, but was postponed as a result of the disruption caused by Hurricane Ivan, which struck the Cayman Islands in September 2004.

Political Parties & Candidates

A total of 45 candidates contested the election. Candidates were presented by the People’s Progressive Party (PPM), and the United Democratic Party (UDP), along with several independents.


The opposition People’s Progressive Movement (PPM) led by Kurt Tibbets picked up nine seats in the Cayman Islands legislature in the general election, defeating the ruling McKeva Bush-led United Democratic Party (UDP) which got five seats. One seat went to an independent candidate Moses Kirkconnell who announced that he would join the PPM immediately after the elections.

Voter Turnout

Voter turnout was 80.25%.

Electoral System

System: First-past-the-post

Elected Members: 15 elected members.

Voter Turnout

Total Votes Cast: 10,527

Registered Voters: 13,118

Voter Turnout: 80.25%

Critical Dates

Dissolution of House: Tue, 15 Mar 2005

Nomination Day: Wed, 16 Mar 2005

Polling Day: Wed, 11 May 2005

First Meeting of Parliament: Wed, 18 May 2005

Political Leaders

Kurt Tibbets

(People’s Progressive Movement – PPM)

McKeeva Bush

(United Democratic Party – UDP)

Latest News

Four killed, 11 injured in Jamaica bus crash

Four killed, 11 injured in Jamaica bus crash

(CMR) Four persons were killed and 11 others injured when a Toyota Hiace bus crashed along the PJ Patterson Highway near Spanish Town at about 11 am on Monday. The police said the driver of the public passenger bus appeared to have lost control of the vehicle,...

Election News

Latest Podcast

Listen to our latest podcasts on Facebook

Cayman Election

We are Cayman’s Election Headquarters!