Breaking News: An early election was called. It is set to take place on April 14th, 2021


12 Seat

– Votes ( – %)


3 Seat

– Votes ( – %)

General elections were held in the Cayman Islands on 11 November 1992 for all 15 seats in the Legislative Assembly using a first-past-the-post system.

In the 1992 election, the number of seats in the Legislative Assembly was incresed by three to 15.

Political Teams & Candidates

A total of 45 candidates stood in the election.


The National Team of government critics won 12 (later reduced to 11) of the 15 seats, and independents won the other three, after a campaign opposing the appointment of the Chief Minister and advocating spending cuts.

Voter Turnout

Voter turnout was 87.25%.


After the elections, leader of the National Team, Thomas. Jefferson was appointed Minister and leader of government business; he also held the portfolios of Tourism, Aviation and Commerce in the Executive Council.

Electoral System

System: First-past-the-post

Elected Members: 15 elected members.

Voter Turnout

Total Votes Cast: 8,896

Registered Voters: 10,196

Voter Turnout: 87.25%

Critical Dates

Dissolution of House:

Nomination Day:

Polling Day: Thu, 19 Nov 1992

First Meeting of Parliament:

Political Leaders

Thomas Jefferson

(National Team – NT)

Latest News

Four killed, 11 injured in Jamaica bus crash

Four killed, 11 injured in Jamaica bus crash

(CMR) Four persons were killed and 11 others injured when a Toyota Hiace bus crashed along the PJ Patterson Highway near Spanish Town at about 11 am on Monday. The police said the driver of the public passenger bus appeared to have lost control of the vehicle,...

Election News

Latest Podcast

Listen to our latest podcasts on Facebook

Cayman Election

We are Cayman’s Election Headquarters!