Breaking News: An early election was called. It is set to take place on April 14th, 2021


0 Seats

– Votes ( – %)


3 Seats

– Votes ( – %)


9 Seats

– Votes ( – %)

General elections were held in the Cayman Islands on 13 November 1984 for all 12 seats in the Legislative Assembly using a first-past-the-post system.

Political Teams & Candidates

A total of 36 candidates were presented by two political teams – Unity Team and Dignity Team – along with several independents.


The ruling Unity Team led by Jim Bodden lost all eight seats due to a scandal over Caymanian banks being used to launder drug money. The opposition Dignity Team of Benson Ebanks won three seats in the Legislative Assembly, but the majority (nine) were won by independents.

Voter Turnout

Voter turnout was 77.96%.


Ebanks subsequently became Chief Minister after forming a coalition.

Electoral System

System: First-past-the-post

Elected Members:12 elected members

Voter Turnout

Total Votes Cast: 6,690

Registered Voters: 8,581

Voter Turnout: 77.96%

Critical Dates

Dissolution of House:

Nomination Day:

Polling Day: Tue, 13 Nov 1984

First Meeting of Parliament: Tue, 20 Nov 1984

Political Leaders

Jim Bodden

(Unity Team – UT)

Benson Ebanks

(Dignity Team – DT)

Latest News

Four killed, 11 injured in Jamaica bus crash

Four killed, 11 injured in Jamaica bus crash

(CMR) Four persons were killed and 11 others injured when a Toyota Hiace bus crashed along the PJ Patterson Highway near Spanish Town at about 11 am on Monday. The police said the driver of the public passenger bus appeared to have lost control of the vehicle,...

Election News

Latest Podcast

Listen to our latest podcasts on Facebook

Cayman Election

We are Cayman’s Election Headquarters!