Breaking News: An early election was called. It is set to take place on April 14th, 2021

Election 2021: writs issued to returning officers

Dec 9, 2020

(CMR) His Excellency the Governor, Martyn Roper, today (Wednesday, 9 December) issued writs to 19 Returning Officers, setting the stage for conducting the General Election next year.

With almost five months to go before Election Day, the Governor presented the writs to the Returning Officers and Deputy Returning Officers in the presence of senior Elections Office officials, including Supervisor Wesley Howell.

Addressing those in attendance, the Governor reflected on the landmark nature of the 2021 General Election. “This is the first Cayman Islands General Election during my tenure as Governor. It is of historical significance given the recent constitutional amendments as the first General Election where voters are electing Members of Parliament. The metaphorical starting gun has now been fired for May 2021’s election,” said Mr. Roper.

“The Cayman Islands Elections Office has a proud history of conducting well run Elections that are free and fair, in line with international best practice. These elections will build further on that record. The role of the Returning Officers and Deputy Returning Officers is crucial. I thank them for their outstanding service to our communities.”

Returning Officers are responsible for the organisation and conduct of elections in their respective districts. Writs are the documents the Governor issues to the Returning Officers commanding them to conduct an election in accordance with Section 28(2) of the Elections Law (2017 Revision).

 In accordance with the 2021 General Elections Programme, Nomination Day will be held on Wednesday, March 31, 2021. The General Elections is to be held in the 19 electoral districts on Wednesday, 26 May 2021.

These writs will be returned to the Governor following the election with the name of the candidate who has been elected to serve in that electoral district.

Editors Notes

The remaining election activities are outlined below.

Notice of NominationsMonday, 22 March 2021
Dissolution of the Legislative AssemblyMonday, 29 March 2021
Proclamation Declaring General ElectionsMonday, 29 March 2021
Nomination DayWednesday, 31 March 2021
Election DayWednesday, 26 May 2021
Elections returns served on the Governor and return of the writsMonday, 31 May 2021

A list of the 19 Returning Officers and the electoral districts are listed below:

Electoral DistrictReturning Officer
West Bay NorthNathania Shakira Sarita Pearson
West Bay WestDale James Ramoon
West Bay SouthDelano Oliver Solomon
West Bay CentralAntoinette Yvette Johnson
George Town SouthPhilip Antoinio Barnes
George Town WestDebbie-Ann Lovida Whittaker
George Town EastShirley Lynn Whittaker
George Town CentralTamara Danille Hurlston
George Town NorthPhilip Martin Jackson
Red BayIda Jane Ebanks
ProspectJudith Grace Witter
Bodden Town EastLyneth Alynta Monteith
Bodden Town WestHaroon Lloyd Pandohie
SavannahKim Ann Bullings
NewlandsTristaca Lynn Ebanks
East EndMelinda Natasha Montemayor
North SideAlice Ann Louise Kirchman
Cayman Brac West and Little CaymanDave Talbert Tatum
Cayman Brac EastChevala Lawanda Burke